Professional·Humanistic·Inclusive

Issuing time:2019-05-20 11:01Author:Su Xinping

This is the seventh China Guanlan International Print Biennial. The number of participating countries has increased from 57 more than a decade ago to this year’s 105; what’s more, the number of submitted works has reached more than 4000, reflecting a remarkable increase in the Biennial’s international influence, epitomizing China’s growing comprehensive national strength. That the works can be selected and even awarded here has become an important academic proof that Chinese printmakers have been recognized by their international peers. The uniqueness, degree of completion and difficulty of creation are the basic criteria for evaluation. Uniqueness means whether the artist has his/her own mature and personalized formal language. Degree of completion means whether the works’ visual language is full and powerful, while the difficulty of creation involves the artists’ quality requirements and spirit of exploration of the materials, technologies and techniques. The works to be exhibited in this Biennial indicate the following characteristics:


I.High degree of specialization This refers to the expression of a concept visualized by the artist through printmaking. “Specialization” refers to the overall appropriateness and effectiveness of the work. Chinese artists mostly use various explicit symbols to combine different “distant realities” into new realities; while the foreign (especially the European) artists focus more on the graphic nature of printmaking language, for example, creating rich and thick abstract or expressive images with textures and outstanding visual effects.


II.Rich humanistic content Whether it’s the application of national styles in different national works or the exploration of forms to highlight the personalized language characteristics, “humanistic content” reflects the printmakers’ broad thinking and the deep concern for social realities. This is the holistic artistic consensus of -- and appropriate humanistic response by -- the international printmaking community under the global context of the rapid development of new media and high-tech intelligent technologies, reflecting the effectiveness and aesthetic appeal of printmaking as an international universal art language.


III.The characteristics of printmaking types and the subjects of representation no longer have a single directive Although printmaking relies heavily on the materials for production and certain inherent aesthetic characteristics have been formed in history, these works don’t highlight the traditional styles of classical printmaking on the whole. Instead, they give way to the unique image layout, the process of printing and the casual manual participation. I think this should be the trend for printmaking to break through the restrictions of the process, to integrate concept and freedom of forms, which is also enlightening for current domestic printmaking in terms of development of direction.


Compared with other printmaking exhibitions in the world, Guanlan International Print Biennial has demonstrated pragmatic and efficient styles of Shenzhen special economic zone since China’s reform and opening up, either from its preparation, solicitation of work, selection or exhibition arrangement. Actually, this is also a kind of working attitude endowed upon the artists and originating from the systematic printing technologies, which enables us not only to retain the ancient spirit of craftsman, but also to gain exchanges and updates of concepts through the relationship with the dynamic city of Shenzhen.


观澜版画
GUANLAN PRINTS
BiliBili
WeChat
Sina Weibo
Toutiao
Email: glbhjd@szlhq.gov.cn      
Tel: 0755-32960866                   
Address: 125 and 169 Yuxin Rd., Longhua District, Shenzhen, China
For more information, please follow us on:

专业·人文·共融

发表时间:2019-05-20 11:01作者:苏新平

中国·观澜国际版画双年展至今已举办到第七届,参展国家和地区从十多年前的 57 个扩大到今年的 105 个,投稿作品数量高达四千多件,体现了其国际影响力的显著提升,成为中国综合国力不断增强的一个文化缩影。 作品能够入围、入选甚至获奖,已成为版画家获得国际同行认可的重要学术证明。 作品的独特性、完成度和创作难度是基本的评选标准。独特性代表艺术家是否有自己成熟的个性化形式语言;完成度意味着作品的语言方式是否饱满有力,而创作难度则关涉艺术家对材料、技术、手法的品质要求和探索精神。 本届参展作品呈现出以下几个特点:

一、专业化程度很高。所谓专业化,是指艺术家在运用版画这一艺术媒介进行视觉化的观念表达方面,体现了恰当、有效的总体态势。中国作者大多利用各种明确的形象符号、以不同的“遥远现实”组合成新的现实;国外(尤其是欧洲)作者则注重版画语言的图像化表达,例如以印痕肌理营造丰富、厚重的抽象性或表现性画面,视觉效果非常突出。

二、人文主义含量丰富。无论是不同国家作品对民族样式风格的运用,还是彰显个性化语言特征的形式探索,都可以从侧面反映出版画家开阔的思维和对社会现实深切的关注。这是在新媒体和高新智能科技迅速发展的全球语境下、国际版画创作群体不约而同的艺术共识与恰当的人文回应,体现了版画作为一种国际通用艺术语言的有效性和美学魅力。

三、版种特性与表现主体不再具备单一的指向性。虽然版画对制版和印刷的物质材料依赖性很大,并在历史上形成某些固有的美学特征,但这些作品总体上并没有突出经典版画样式的传统风貌,而是将其让位于独特的画面布局经营、印刷的过程感和随性而至的手工参与等等。我想,这才是版画突破版种限制、走向理念共融和形式自由的应有趋势,对于国内目前的版画发展方向是很好的启示。

相比全球范围内其它版画展,观澜国际版画双年展从筹备、征稿到评选、布展等环节,无不体现了中国改革开放以来深圳特区所秉持的务实和高效作风。实际上这也是源自系统化印刷科技的版画艺术赋予艺术家的一种工作态度,使我们不仅保留了古老的工匠精神,也通过与深圳这座活力之城的因缘际会而获得思想理念的交流和更新。

观澜版画
GUAN LAN PRINTS
BiliBili
微信公众号
新浪微博
今日头条
联系邮箱:glbhjd@szlhq.gov.cn            
联系电话:0755-32960866              
联系地址:广东省深圳市龙华区观澜街道牛湖大水田裕新路125号、169号                   
更多精彩内容请关注