Immersed in the Spring of Printmaking in Guanlan

Issuing time:2019-05-20 10:59Author:Jiang Lu

In May, with the season of flowers in bloom, the China Guanlan International Print Biennial will be unveiled in the China Printmaking Museum after the hard and well-organized preparation.


My participation in the Guanlan International Print Biennial as a juror is really a rare pleasure. Walking into the review hall and viewing thousands of works from all over the world is as good as attending a print feast. In my personal view, it’s not only a very valuable learning opportunity; it also triggers my thinking related to the state of contemporary printmaking.


How time flies! It’s been more than ten years since the establishment of Guanlan Original Printmaking Base. The Base has developed into a structurally complete printmaking art center. The Printmaking Workshop is the foundation where artists from home and abroad reside for the creation of new works. The China Printmaking Museum is the window which integrates the collection, research, exhibitions and social service functions. The exhibition is the stage under which Guanlan International Print Biennials, Chinese Printmaking Exhibitions and exhibitions of various scales and academic themes are held alternately. Guanlan Original Printmaking Base has become an artistic institution with important influences at home and abroad with its gradual growth over the past decade. Its status and roles in the history of modern Chinese printmaking are evident and will continue to be proven by the history.


The quantity of the works received by the Biennial and the number of countries represented by artists hit a new record this year. This enables us to understand the developmental status of international prints more comprehensively, and also allows us to compare and observe the current situations of the creation of prints in China under very convenient and intuitive conditions.


For those Chinese printmakers who submit their works to this Biennial, the youth printmakers constituted the majority, which is really delightful. The multi-year efforts by the peers in the domestic printmaking circle have created an environment and condition suitable for the development of printmaking art. The printmaking specialty of the colleges and the social printmaking institutions have played decisive roles in the talent cultivation and creation of work. Going forward, we can anticipate even greater vitality and vigor in printmaking art.


Beginning with the in-depth exploration of various printmaking approaches, the overall quality of domestic printmaking production has improved rapidly and significantly. In terms of the production quality of the works, Chinese printmaking has markedly improved. Casting our minds back a dozen years, it was quite easy to distinguish the Chinese prints from the foreign works when they were put together. The works fromabroad were often impressive due to the accumulation of historical experience and the then-production conditions unattainable in China. By contrast, although the domestic works had good concepts and form, they had difficulty in achieving optimal artistic effects since they were often rough and unrefined in production. How big a pity it was! Nowadays, the situation has changed. Although different quality levels and room for improvement still exist, the quality of our printmaking creation is closer to that of the foreign works, which was particularly felt during the review of this Biennial.


International communication is a very important factor for the overall improvement of the production quality of Chinese printmaking. Since the reform and the opening up, many domestic printmakers and young students have gone out to study abroad, especially in the European universities and printmaking institutions. As they return home, their learning achievements have entered the domestic printmaking teaching systems, which has effectively improved the domestic printmaking teaching and research. At the same time, many outstanding foreign printmakers and printmaking educators have come to China to teach the skills and thoughts devotedly, which has played a very important role in promoting the overall quality of Chinese printmaking. Chinese printmaking has changed with continuous going out and coming in, during which Shenzhen Guanlan Original Printmaking Base and the Biennial have played particularly important roles.


Relatively speaking, printmaking creation requires a higher level of technology because its generation and evolution are closely connected with science and technology, especially printing technology. The rapid development of digital technology will undoubtedly promote a generation of new ways of image expression, however, in my view, the technology always has a cold side and lacks the life temperature of a human being. In recent years, the traces of digital technology application are seen more or less in the prints, including the works in this Biennial, showing the effects of the good and bad intermingled. Therefore, regarding how to grasp the applications of digital technology and how to retain the subjective factors and direct effects of the artists, we should have a clear mind and make judgment more in line with the law of artistic values.


The artistic values in the multicultural era reflect the artists’ philosophies and attitudes. In addition to creativity, the almost common pursuit, I’m afraid that every artist must confront, from time to time, the essential questions of what to do and how to do it. The printmaking community has had a strong sense of crisis for a long time. On one hand, the sense of crisis comes from the artistic market, and on the other hand, it comes from the concerns about the survival of traditional styles of art. In fact, when looking at the traditional styles of art in the context of contemporary art, we may find that any kind of painting has similar concerns; the question is that printmaking has its own special concerns. It’s a long story on this topic, but fortunately it seems that the sense of crisis has begun to fade away. Actually, the way and concept are sometimes not the same thing. When we see printmakers, either from Europe or United Statesor Japan, passionately creating their prints, we may feel a status of mental stability,self-confidence and artistic freedom. Furthermore, the artists may have their self-identification, which brings expertise; also, they can be unrestrained, which, in turn, brings full freedom. If you have something to say, just do it! For this reason, when we see the works of Guanlan International Print Biennial, especially the works of the many young printmakers, we may have a feeling that art doesn’t need to be proven, just do it if you like it and it’s good if it looks good. The creations based on the heart and sincere expressions should be the artists’ standpoints and attitudes, but also the standpoints and attitudes upheld by the printmakers. Similarly, when we see many printmakers, especially the younger generation of printmakers, trying new languages, we may feel the active characteristics, creation potentials and valuable experimental spirits of printmaking thinking, which not only brings new vitality to the traditional ways, but also opens new paths to find a broader space for artistic creation.


The Guanlan International Print Biennial is among the largest of important international print exhibitions. Even so, not all of the good works can be selected, which is really a great regret. In general, the persistent pursuit of quality is the common ideal of most printmakers. While the contemporary art is often too highbrow to be popular, so too with printmaking. How to make printmaking truly go out of the ivory tower, connect with the public aesthetic tastes and maintain the spiritual communications with the public should be thought about by printmakers.


The 7th Guanlan International Print Biennial is upcoming. As a juror having reviewed the Biennial exhibitions for several times and one of the curators for this Biennial, I’ve personally experienced the growth of Guanlan Original Printmaking Base, an international printmaking base, and have many feelings from my participation. The older generation of artists with full pioneering spirits and historical senses of responsibility have pushed the boundaries of printmaking ever farther, and the younger artists with solid strength, broad vision and full vitality are actively participating, making Guanlan Original Printmaking Base thrive.


I wish more friends at home and abroad like and support Guanlan International Print Biennial and I sincerely wish this Biennial a great success.


观澜版画
GUANLAN PRINTS
BiliBili
WeChat
Sina Weibo
Toutiao
Email: glbhjd@szlhq.gov.cn      
Tel: 0755-32960866                   
Address: 125 and 169 Yuxin Rd., Longhua District, Shenzhen, China
For more information, please follow us on:

观版画春澜

发表时间:2019-05-20 10:59作者:姜陆

五月,正是鲜花盛开的时节,两年一度的“中国·观澜国际版画双年展”经过紧张有序的筹备, 又将在中国版画博物馆揭开帷幕。

每次参加观澜双年展的评审工作都是难得的享受。走进评审大厅,面对来自全世界的数千张作品,无异于出席一次版画盛宴。对我个人而言,既是非常宝贵的学习机会,同时也会引发一些相关的思考。

时光荏苒,自观澜版画原创产业基地创建至今,已十多年过去了。一路走来,如今的基地已形成了一个结构完整的版画艺术中心。版画工坊是基础,每年都接待国内外的艺术家在此驻留创作。中国版画博物馆是窗口,集收藏、研究、作品展示、社会服务功能于一身。展览是舞台,国际版画双年展、中国版画大展以及不同规模和学术主题的展览轮番举办。十几年下来,随着自身的逐渐成长,观澜版画基地已成为国内外具有重要影响的艺术机构,她在中国现代版画史上的地位和作用已经被现实所证明,也将继续被历史所证明。

这一届双年展征集的作品数量和作者来源国别的数字又创新高,让大家能够更全面地了解国际版画的发展现状,也能够在十分方便和直观的条件下对比观照中国的版画创作现状。

本届双年展国内报送作品的青年版画家居多,这是十分可喜的现象。国内版画界同仁的多年努力,造就了一个适合于版画艺术生长的环境和条件。学院的版画专业和社会的版画机构在人才培养、作品创作中发挥了举足轻重的作用。长江后浪推前浪,版画艺术新的生机与活力由此可期。

以版画中不同版种技巧的精深探究为前导,国内版画制作的整体质量获得了迅速而明显的提升。仅就作品制作质量的完整性而言,中国当下的版画整体面貌已经今非昔比。回想十数年前,当众多数量的中国版画与国外的作品放在一起,大可轻易地区别判认。来自国外的作品,由于历史的经验积淀和当时国内尚无法企及的制作条件,常会令人刮目相看。相比之下,国内的作品尽管有着好的构思和形式营造,却往往在制作上失之简陋粗糙,难以获得完美的艺术效果而令人扼腕憾叹。现如今,情况发生了本质性的变化,虽然还会有不同程度的差距和提升的空间,但我们的版画创作质量已大可和国外的作品比肩而立。这种感觉在本届双年展的评审过程中尤为明显。

中国版画制作质量之所以整体提升,国际交流是其中一个十分重要的因素。改革开放以来,许多国内版画家和青年学生走出去,进入国外特别是欧洲的院校和版画机构潜心学习,这些人的学习成果后来逐渐进入国内的版画教学体系,切实提升了教学研究水平。与此同时,国外许多优秀的版画家、版画教育家来到中国,悉心传授技艺心得,对中国版画整体质量的提升起到了非常重要的推动作用。不断地走出去,请进来,中国版画随之改观,这其间,深圳观澜版画基地和双年展的作用尤为明显。

相对而言,版画创作要求的技术含量更高,这是因为其自身的产生和演进与科学技术,特别是印刷技术紧密相联。数字技术的迅速发展无疑会促生新的图像表达方式,依我之见,技术永远会有冰冷的一面,缺少人的生命温度。近些年来版画作品,包括本届双年展的作品中都会或多或少见到数字技术应用的痕迹,效果似是良莠不齐。因此,如何把握数字技术的应用,如何留存艺术家的主观因素和直接作用,确是应该有清醒的意识,有更符合艺术价值规律的判断。

多元文化时代的艺术价值观映射着艺术家的立场和态度。除了创造性这个几乎是共同的追求之外,做什么、怎么做,恐怕每个人都会时不时地进行思考,对版画艺术来说尤其如此。很长的一段时间里,版画界抱有很强的危机感,这种危机感一是源自于艺术市场,二是来自于对传统艺术方式能否继续存活的担忧。如果放在当代艺术语境中看待传统艺术方式,任何画种其实都存在类似担忧,只不过版画更有些自身的特殊原因。这个题目说来会话太长,好在近来似乎危机感开始消退,谈论这个话题的人在减少。其实,方式和观念有时并非一回事,当我们在欧美各地包括日本见到许多版画家孜孜不倦地制作着他们的版画作品时,会感受到一种精神的定力、自信以及艺术自由的状态。进一步讲,艺术家自我身份的认定可以有,这意味着专长;也可以了无拘泥,这又意味着充分的自由。当在一种方式中还有话要说有事能做时尽管努力去做。正因如此当我们看到观澜双年展这些作品,特别是出自于众多青年版画家之手的作品时,会有一种感受:艺术不需要证明喜欢就做能做得好看就成立足我心真诚表达,这应该是艺术家的立场和态度,更是版画家可以秉持的立场和态度。同样,当我们看到许多版画家,特别是年轻一代版画家进行新的语言尝试时,感受到的是版画思维的活跃特征、创造潜能和可贵的实验精神。这不仅给传统方式带来了新的生命活力,又可以另辟新径,寻觅到更为宽广的艺术创造空间。

观澜版画双年展的规模在国际重要版画展览中已是屈指可数。即便如此,仍会有一些比较好的作品不能入选,可谓遗珠之憾。总体而言,坚持学术品质的追求是绝大多数版画家的共同理想。而在当代艺术中,曲高和寡的现象往往是一种客观存在,版画也是如此。如何使之真正走出象牙塔,与大众审美衔接,与大众保有精神的沟通,也应该是版画家需要思考的课题。

第七届观澜国际版画双年展开幕在即,作为多次参加此项展事评审工作的成员和本届双年展的策展人之一,我亲身经历了观澜这个国际版画中心的成长历程,感慨良多。有满怀事业心和历史责任感的前辈艺术家开疆拓土,更有实力强劲、视野开阔、充满活力的年轻艺术家积极投入,使得观澜版画基地茁壮成长,根愈深,叶更茂。

祝愿国内外更多的朋友喜欢、支持观澜国际版画双年展,也衷心期盼此届展览圆满成功。

观澜版画
GUAN LAN PRINTS
BiliBili
微信公众号
新浪微博
今日头条
联系邮箱:glbhjd@szlhq.gov.cn            
联系电话:0755-32960866              
联系地址:广东省深圳市龙华区观澜街道牛湖大水田裕新路125号、169号                   
更多精彩内容请关注