Postscript of 2015 Guanlan International Print Biennial

Issuing time:2015-05-20 10:40

From the starting to the end, the Biennial has experienced four quarters. The thing that reminds us of the change of the seasons usually is the distant contacts. In October and November when Guanlan International Print Biennial solicited contributions, Shenzhen Guanlan was full of green with brightness, but the trees’ leaves in Tokyo already turned yellow, and it was snowy in Alaska. Later for biennial works, our waiting become intranquil as the time flies, while our mind was still reluctant to leave from last years warm winter. The print works from all over the world were flying to this moderate-temperature Guanlan with the wishes of the Spring Festival.


The Biennial has been held five times until now. In the applications received from the countries in the world, we always see some familiar image symbols and familiar people. Yet even we’ve never met most of the artists, we still have a kind of old feelings towards them. Holding their application forms, we see that some of the young and beautiful appearances became mature, and some even put on weight, some looked a little weather beaten. We know that they must have their own special life experience and stories. Particularly, when seeing some artists’ black hair turned white, I suddenly realized that we all have experienced the flying time. When we were young, we gathered for the dream of print, but now we all have our own families. However, there emerge a large number of young printmaking artists. From the young people to the predecessors with white hair, though we are in different countries with different races and cultural backgrounds, we are still connected due to the common dreams of print art.


Guanlan International Print Biennial, China 2015 is a grand artistic ceremony with attention of international print field. The Biennial’s evaluation reflects fierce competition, and the information released each time is stirring. 268 works were selected in the two rounds of evaluation from 4034 works from 83 countries and regions, of which 11 works have won “Guanlan International Print Prize”. In the meantime of congratulating the winners and finalists, we also feel regret to the artists who failed and sincerely appreciate for their active participation and supports to the Biennial. Many artists are also excellent with great hopes on their works, but currently, in the Biennial’s fair evaluation mechanism, there are only a small number of works left. We have witnessed the solemn tragedy of many unselected works. On the other hand, we also have seen the great joy of the winners and finalists. Britain famous printmaking artist Peter Ford said, many I had been looking at the biennial website for news of the selection, trying to prepare myself for disappointment. Your email with the congratulations of winning is the best email I have received for a long time. I jump for joy.


The end of the Fifth Guanlan International Print Biennial, China 2015 means that ten springs, summers, autumns and winters have passed. In the past ten years, the Biennial has developed with supports and cares from all sectors, becoming one of the most important and authoritative exhibitions of China, and even of the world. During these years, the Party secretary and vice chairman of China Artists Association, Mr. Wu Changjiang, had been earnest to conduct all work of the Biennial. The Biennial’s previous curators, Mr. Guang Jun, Mr. Qi Fengge, Mr. Zhang Yuanfan, Mr. Li Baoquan, Mr. Dong Xiaoming, Mr. Jiang Lu, Mr. Su Xinping, Mr. Kang Jianfei, Mr. Liu Libin took charge of the curating in succession and jointly created the current Guanlan International Print Biennial, leaving appealing stories of each Biennial in the past ten years.

Currently, Guanlan Printmaking Base was growing up strong and sturdy as young man. China Printmaking Museum with top management standard and facilities has been established, and the International Printmaking College is under plan. In the environment that China’s economy develops, and cultural arts are greatly developed and prosperous, Guanlan International Print Biennial will welcome another ten years. When we feel grateful, we also think deeply of the opportunities and challenges faced by the Biennial. We wish the Biennial shall develop better with the support of all parties, helping the dreams of artists all over the world come true and making contributions to promote the development of international print and cultural exchange.

观澜版画
GUANLAN PRINTS
BiliBili
WeChat
Sina Weibo
Toutiao
Email: glbhjd@szlhq.gov.cn      
Tel: 0755-32960866                   
Address: 125 and 169 Yuxin Rd., Longhua District, Shenzhen, China
For more information, please follow us on:

2015观澜国际版画双年展后记

发表时间:2015-05-20 10:40

双年展工作从启动,直至展览结束,会历经四个季度。提醒我们季节转换的往往是来自遥远的联系。在观澜国际版画双年展征稿的十月、十一月,深圳观澜满目葱郁,骄阳高照,而东京的树木已染上黄色,阿拉斯加甚至雪花飞舞。就在我们还留恋着去年暖冬的从容,时间的流失让等待也变得有些扣人心弦之时,世界各地的版画伴随新春的祝福纷纷飞到了气候温润的观澜。

双年展做到现在已是第五届了,在来自全世界各国的报名收件中,我们总能看到一些熟悉的符号,熟悉的人,而更多的艺术家从未谋面,也会因曾经也参加过而有一种熟悉的感觉。拿着他们的报名表,看到那些早几届还年轻美丽的面容如今开始显得成熟,甚至有的开始发福,有的略显沧桑,我们知道他们一定有着各自的生活遭遇和故事。特别是看到有些艺术家曾经的黑发已成白发,忽然明白我们也是一样经历着时光的流逝,当初为了版画艺术的梦想走到一起的年轻的我们,现在都已各自成家。而一大批更年轻的面孔正在涌来。从稚气的青年一直到白发的前辈,大家虽然身在不同国家、不同民族,有着各自的文化背景,却因为共同的版画艺术梦想而彼此相连。

2015观澜国际版画双年展是又一次艺术的盛典,备受国际版画界关注。双年展每一次评选都体现了激烈的竞争,每一次消息的公布都激动人心。268件作品经过两轮评选从来自83个国家和地区的4034件作品中脱颖而出,其中11件作品荣获“观澜国际版画奖”。我们在祝贺获奖者和入选者胜利的同时,也对绝大部分本届落选的艺术家感到深深的遗憾,并对他们积极参与和支持双年展表示由衷地感谢!许多艺术家也都十分优秀并对自己的作品寄予了厚望,但双年展的参赛作品在目前来说最为公平的票选机制中,留到最后的总是少数。我们看到了大片作品落选的悲壮,但另一方面,我们也看到了获奖者和入选者的欣喜,英国著名版画家彼得·福特先生说:“我在双年展主页查询结果,并尽量准备面对失落,收到获奖祝贺,竟然因为高兴而跳了起来”。

第五届双年展工作的结束,就意味着十个春夏秋冬即将过去。过去的十年双年展在各方的支持和关照下发展壮大,成长为中国乃至国际版画界权威性的重要展览之一。十年之中,中国美协分党组书记、常务副主席吴长江先生每届都悉心指导双年展的各项工作。双年展的历届策展人广军先生、齐凤阁先生、张远帆先生、李宝泉先生、董小明先生、姜陆先生、苏新平先生、康剑飞先生、刘礼宾先生,接力领衔双年展的策展工作,共同创造了观澜国际版画双年展的今天,也留下了过去十年一届又一届双年展动人的故事。

时至今日,观澜版画基地如青少年般茁壮成长,管理规范、配套设施一流的中国版画博物馆已经落成,国际版画学院也已在规划之中。在中国经济崛起,文化艺术大发展、大繁荣的环境中,观澜国际版画双年展将迎来下一个十年,我们在感恩的同时思考双年展所面临的机遇和挑战。但愿双年展在大家的帮助和支持下有更好的发展,为各国艺术家梦想的起飞助跑,为推动国际版画发展和文化交流做出新的贡献。

观澜版画
GUAN LAN PRINTS
BiliBili
微信公众号
新浪微博
今日头条
联系邮箱:glbhjd@szlhq.gov.cn            
联系电话:0755-32960866              
联系地址:广东省深圳市龙华区观澜街道牛湖大水田裕新路125号、169号                   
更多精彩内容请关注