Postscript of 2011 Guanlan International Print Biennial

Issuing time:2011-05-20 10:30

The Guanlan International Print Biennial is one of the biggest art exhibitions of its kind, with a large number of participating artists representing many countries. It promotes exchanges among artists of all nations and fosters the development of international printmaking. It offers both China and the rest of the world the opportunity to know and understand each other better.


In the First Guanlan International Print Biennial 2007, 1976 works by 1145 artists from 57 countries and regions were submitted and we intended to give the world an outstanding print exhibition. The huge success of the first Biennial paved the way for its international expansion. Two years later the 2009 Guanlan International Print Biennial turned out to be another great success. 2804 works by 1604 artists from 70 countries were submitted. This year, the Third Guanlan International Print Biennial received 3697 entries by 1991 artists from 81 countries and regions. It set a new records for participating works, artists, countries and regions. Among the works we received, were some from world-renowned printmakers whose participation proves our exhibition has won the wide recognition and support of the international artistic community.


The 1991 artists are from both developed countries and regions like Europe, America, Japan and South Korea, etc, and developing countries in Asia, Africa and Latin America. The Biennial gives different cultures and artistic ideas the opportunity to converse and clash with one another. We can say that the Guanlan International Print Biennial is an all-embracing art exhibition and a grand artistic event attracting the attention of artists around the world. The entries vary in medium and genre, but are undoubtedly all fine works embracing modern ideas and technology. Their distinct themes and strikingly different styles fully indicate the strength of international printmaking.


After two rounds of careful evaluation, 248 works were selected for the exhibition, and 15 won the Guanlan Print Prize. The selection process was long and difficult. The overseas jurors, along with their Chinese colleagues, picked out the best works observing strictly the rules established by the jury after thorough assessment and discussion. We are glad to say that the whole process of selection was conducted in a friendly and lively atmosphere, and the jurors had a full and frank exchange of artistic ideas and thoughts.


The curators of this exhibition, Jiang Lu and Su Xinping came to Guanlan many times to offer their guidance. They encouraged us to continue to increase our capacity for staging a major art show and create international recognition. The party secretary and executive vice chairman of the Chinese Artists Association, Wu Changjiang, spoke highly of Guanlan International Print Biennial. He said the success of the last two exhibitions won worldwide reputation and made themselves known by the international artistic community. He added that the Guanlan International Print Biennial has helped to introduce the Chinese culture to the world and promote international artistic exchanges, and that its contribution to the formation of the character of Chinese art and the development of Chinese printmaking should not be underestimated.


The work of the Biennial has also been appreciated by the government officials of all levels, and the entries themselves left the whole jury with a deep impression. One of the jurors, Professor Ingrid Ledent from the Belgium Royal Academy of Fine Arts praised this exhibition as a great success both in terms of quantity and quality of its works. It is also worthwhile to mention that the participation of the world renowed print artists makes this exhibition more important.


With the contiuned support of the artists from all over the world, Guanlan International Print Biennial surpasses itself and explores new frontiers. Due to its growing international influence, other international print biennials and triennials began to seek cooperation with it to stage joint exhibitions. We have the reason to believe that in the future Guanlan International Print Biennial will show the world more masterpieces of printmaking.

观澜版画
GUANLAN PRINTS
BiliBili
WeChat
Sina Weibo
Toutiao
Email: glbhjd@szlhq.gov.cn      
Tel: 0755-32960866                   
Address: 125 and 169 Yuxin Rd., Longhua District, Shenzhen, China
For more information, please follow us on:

2011观澜国际版画双年展后记

发表时间:2011-05-20 10:30

中国观澜国际版画双年展是目前国内持续时间最长,参加国最多,展览规模最大的国际版画展览。两年一届的观澜国际版画双年展,是增进世界各国艺术家的交流,推动版画艺术的发展,让双年展成为中国了解世界,世界了解中国的平台和窗口。

首届观澜国际版画双年展于2007年举办,今年是第三届。首届双年展有来自57个国家和地区的1145位艺术家的1976件作品参选,从多方面体现了双年展的国际化程度、多元化取向,开创了成功的局面,奠定了广泛的国际基础。2009观澜国际版画双年展更上一层楼, 共有来自70个国家和地区的1604位艺术家的2804件版画作品参选,然而,2011年第三届观澜国际版画双年展收件于2011年2月25日截止,共收到81个国家和地区1991位艺术家的3697件作品。由此双年展参展国家数、艺术家数、作品数均创新高,尤其是国际上许多版画名家都积极参选,表明了国际艺术界对我们的认可和支持越来越大。

提交作品参选本届双年展的艺术家遍及全球五大洲,他们除了来自欧、美、日、韩等发达国家和地区,也有许多来自亚、非、拉等发展中国家。各种文化和观念汇聚在一起,体现了观澜国际版画双年展的兼容并包的特点,也说明了观澜国际版画双年展对国际艺术家的吸引力。作品版种多样、技术精良,观念超前。这些作品涵盖木版、铜版、石版、丝网版等各个版种,主题鲜明、风格各异,充分体现了当今国际的版画技术发展的最高水平。

参选作品经过评委会的初审、复审两轮严格评审,最终评选出入选作品248幅,其中“观澜版画奖”作品15幅。获奖作品的评选可谓是扣人心弦,在入选作品中,评委们被获奖的严格标准进行了集中讨论和投票,这也是中外评委们学术观点的交流和文化的碰撞,友好而激烈的学术讨论气氛充满了评选现场,一些票数高竞争激烈的作品,经过一轮轮比照投票,胜负一出,整个现场都不约而同的爆发出掌声。

本届双年展策展人姜陆、苏新平先生多次专门赶赴观澜指导工作,继续提升双年展的办展水平,树立良好的国际品牌,确保展览各项工作达到一个新的高水准。中国美协分党组书记、常务副主席吴长江评价说,观澜国际版画双年展成绩显著,影响广泛,已成为我国在国际艺术领域争取话语权的新举措,是展示中国文化、促进国际艺术交流的重要平台,对熔炼中国美术国家形象和气派起到了重要作用,有力地推动了中国版画艺术事业的发展。

双年展的工作受到各级领导的赞许,参展作品也给中外评委留下了深刻的印象。本届观澜国际版画双年展评委、比利时皇家艺术学院教授英格里德·勒登特表示,无论是从作品数量还是质量来说,本届双年展都非常成功。尤其值得一提的是,有很多国际著名的版画艺术家参展,而且作品水准很高。

随着观澜国际版画双年展不断拓疆向前、自我超越,得到了各国艺术家的信任与支持,国际影响力与日俱增,国际上的各大版画双年展和三年展纷纷与我们交流并进行展览连姻,相信观澜国际版画双年展今后一定会带给大家更多的精彩。

观澜版画
GUAN LAN PRINTS
BiliBili
微信公众号
新浪微博
今日头条
联系邮箱:glbhjd@szlhq.gov.cn            
联系电话:0755-32960866              
联系地址:广东省深圳市龙华区观澜街道牛湖大水田裕新路125号、169号                   
更多精彩内容请关注