First-class Printmaking Gala, Unique Cultural Brand Positioning of China

Issuing time:2007-05-20 09:42Author:Qi Fengge

Printmaking is one of the paintings that have the most distinct characteristic of universality. The languages of printmaking in each country have certain common features. It differs from national paintings, such as Chinese painting and Japanese painting. Such painting possesses distinct regional and national features, so it is difficult for people in other cultures to understand and accept them. By contrast, the universality of printmaking leads to the extensive production of printmaking worldwide. It is also one of the reasons why printmaking enjoys popularity. So far, Norway, Spain, Poland, France, Sapporo and Kanagawa in Japan have held international printmaking exhibitions. However, China, a "printmaking giant" in the world, lacks cultural brands like the international printmaking exhibitions. Although international printmaking exhibitions were held in Qingdao in 2000 and in Beijing in 2003, the exhibitions failed to be carried on. Therefore, ChinaGuanlan International Printmaking Biennial embodies special significance in the Chinese and even the world printmaking industry.


The first ChinaGuanlan International Printmaking Biennial is a top-level printmaking gala, which can be shown in the following three aspects: quality exhibited works, first-class organizers and authoritative evaluation committee. The sponsor, China Artists Association, is the top organization in the artistic circles in China. One of the organizers, Printmaking Art Committee of CAA, is the most authoritative academic institution in the artistic circles in China. The jury of the initial and final evaluation of this exhibition includes distinguished painters and theorists. Some of them are vice presidents of CAA, deans of fine arts academies and chairmen of printmaking departments. The foreign judges are organizers of modern printmaking associations in their countries and senior printmakers. Most of them were jury of international printmaking biennial before. Most importantly, 223 exhibited works selected from 1976 works from 57 countries show the latest trend of international printmaking development. Some of the printmakers have won awards in many international and national exhibitions. They, like Zhu Dequn, have already enjoyed high reputation in the world. These three characteristics of the exhibition have proved the high standard, quality and level of this printmaking biennial.


The first ChinaGuanlan International Printmaking Biennial is also an exhibition with its uniqueness. It does not only differ from the traditional Chinese printmaking exhibition patterns, it is also different from international printmaking theme exhibitions in other countries. It is featured by openness, comprehensiveness and pluralism. This year's exhibition is geared to international standards in an open and modern way. Although this exhibition is a governmental activity funded and organized by local government, it adopts curatorship system and is operated in a standardized way. Works from every country are welcomed. The openness and freedom shows the respect for the willingness of printmakers. Jury members of the final evaluation are also recruited openly. The foreign judges of this exhibition are experts from Japan, Korea and Britain. There is also an America judge who couldn't show up. The foreign and Chinese jury, through communication and mutual learning, can make the pattern of the exhibition as reasonable as possible, because the constitution of the jury often determines the constitution of selected and awarded works. Works from home and abroad are at random in the final evaluation and will be exhibited in the same hall. The members of the jury evaluated the works by themselves. As for the 15 awarded works, 10 of them are from foreign countries, while 5 are from China. The result clearly shows the fairness and justice of such an operation pattern. In order to show its comprehensiveness, this printmaking biennial has no fixed academic theme. It encourages free creation, full play and bold exploration of printmakers everywhere. In terms of assessment standards, the jury reaches consensus that we should assess works from each country with an open mind and international view. We cannot make judgment based on local and national aesthetic views. The comprehensiveness can be reflected by the pluralism in the evaluation result. Some of the multi-media assisted works are also selected. Every works enjoys equal opportunity. Any kind of spiritually healthy works, without political problem, is possible to be selected, including various language styles, materials, techniques, visual expressions, cultural preferences and spiritual significances. The works can be traditional, modern, abstract, concrete, emotionally expressive or rationally pursuant. But we have high standard requirements of creation, individuality and techniques for selected works. We must stick to these requirements so as to ensure the quality of the exhibition.


The pluralism of the printmaking biennial reflects the pluralized structure of world culture. It shows the positive trend of individuality, co-existence and independent development of national fine arts worldwide under the background of economic globalization. As a window for mutual understanding between China and the rest of the world, and as a platform for friendly communication and mutual learning among every country's printmaking industry, The first ChinaGuanlan International Printmaking Biennial will undoubtedly create a first-class, unique and influential cultural brand.

观澜版画
GUANLAN PRINTS
BiliBili
WeChat
Sina Weibo
Toutiao
Email: glbhjd@szlhq.gov.cn      
Tel: 0755-32960866                   
Address: 125 and 169 Yuxin Rd., Longhua District, Shenzhen, China
For more information, please follow us on:

高端的文化盛会 独特的文化品牌——关于中国观澜国际版画双年展的定位

发表时间:2007-05-20 09:42作者:齐凤阁

版画是最具世界性的一个画种,各国版画的语言带有共通性,它不像中国画、日本画等民族画种,带有明显的区域性与民族性特征,而不易被异域人们理解和接受,其共通性造成了世界范围的版画制作的广泛性,这也是国际版画展盛行的原因之一。到目前为止,挪威、西班牙、波兰、法国、日本的札幌和神奈川等都举办过国际版画展。而作为历史悠久的、在世界上号称“版画大国”的中国却缺少国际版画展这样的文化品牌,2000年青岛与2003年北京虽举办过国际版画展,但都未能维继,因此,中国观澜国际版画双年展的举办,对于中国乃至国际版画均具有特殊意义。

首届中国观澜国际版画双年展是一次高端的版画盛会,具体体现为:参展作品的高水平,主办单位的高规格、评审委员的权威性三个方面。作为牵头主办单位的中国美术家协会是中国美术界最高端的组织,承办单位之一的中国美协版画艺委会是中国版画界最权威的学术机构,可谓规格之高。本届展览的初评与终评国内评委主要由中国美协版画艺委会的一些著名版画家、理论家组成,有中国美协副主席、美术学院的院长、版画系主任等,国际评委有的是所在国现代版画家协会创始人、资深版画家,大都多次担任国际版画双年展的评委,不能说没有权威性。而其中最主要的一点是从来自57个国家的1976件作品中选出的223件版画,基本上体现了国际版画的最新状貌,代表了世界版画的发展水平。参展画家中有的多次在国际、国内版画大展中获奖,有的如朱德群等早已享有世界声誉。这三点毫无疑问标高了本届版画双年展的水准、品位与层次。

首届中国观澜国际版画双年展又是一次品格独具的展会。它不仅在中国版画展览格局中与众不同,而且也迥异于有些国家专题性的国际版画展览。其特色体现为:开放性、包容性、多元性。本届版画双年展以开放的眼光、趋前的理念与国际接轨。虽为政府行为,由地方政府出资、举办,但采取策展人制度,按国际规范化的方式运作,公开向世界各地及国内画家征件,开放自由,不特别邀请,体现了对画家自主意愿的尊重。终评评委也面向世界聘任,本届国外评委除美国评委因事未到外,有日本、韩国、英国的专家,与国内评委切磋互补,使其格局尽量合理,因为评委的结构往往决定入选与获奖作品的结构。终评时国内外作品打乱,置于同一展厅,评委自主划票。就获奖的15件版画而言,有10件为国外作品,5件为国内作品,此结果可看出这种开放性运作的公平、公正性。为了凸现包容性,本次版画双年展不确定单一的学术主题,以鼓励各国版画家自由创造,尽情发挥,大胆探索。在讨论评选标准时,评委们一致认为要以包容的胸怀、世界的眼光对待各国作品,而不能以本国的、民族的审美眼光为取舍标准。这种包容的心态体现在评选结果中,便是兼容并蓄的多元性,包括多媒体电脑参与制作的版画也有入选,不同的语言风格、不同的媒材、技法,不同的视觉样态,不同的文化取向、不同的精神意蕴,传统的、现代的、抽象的、具象的,感性显现、理性追求,各种取向机会均等,只要政治上没有问题,情调健康向上,都有入选的可能。但是在推崇创意、彰显个性、精良技艺等方面是有较高要求的,这是保证展览质量必须坚持的艺术标准。

本届版画双年展的多元形态映现出当代世界文化的多元格局,显示着在经济全球一体化的背景下,各国各民族艺术特色独具、平等并存、独立发展的良好态势。作为中国瞭望世界、世界了解中国的一个窗口,作为各国版画家友好交流、切磋技艺的一个平台,中国观澜国际版画双年展在首届的基础上,一定会打造成一个高端的、独特的、具有世界影响力的文化品牌!


观澜版画
GUAN LAN PRINTS
BiliBili
微信公众号
新浪微博
今日头条
联系邮箱:glbhjd@szlhq.gov.cn            
联系电话:0755-32960866              
联系地址:广东省深圳市龙华区观澜街道牛湖大水田裕新路125号、169号                   
更多精彩内容请关注