Postscript of 2007 Guanlan International Print Biennial

Issuing time:2007-05-20 16:51Author:Zhu Fan

China·Guanlan Print Original Industry Base should be mentioned first while talking about China · Guanlan International Printmaking Biennial.


In May 2006, Bao'an District People's Government, China Artists' Association and Shenzhen Federation of Literary and Art Circles reached consensus on the Second China (Shenzhen) International Cultural Industry Expo. They decided to join hands to build the China·Guanlan Print Original Industry Base and to build up world reputation for China's printmaking industry through world-class art exhibitions. It is aimed to lead the international development trend of China printmaking industry through creation of quality original prints. The base is a comprehensive project with the combination of print creation, production, exhibition, collection, communication, research, training and market development. It is the coordination of China printmaking undertakings and printmaking industry. The Guanlan Base has been taken as part of the 11th Five Year Plan of Shenzhen Cultural industry development strategy.


Guanlan, a historical city in East Jin Dynasty and an important town of Bao'an county, has developed into a modern city with an area of 89.8 square kilometers and a total population of over 500 000. The city is well-known for its Mission Hills Golf Club. Guanlan city is historically known as the "City of Culture", which enjoys rich cultural resources. It emphasizes the development of culture and education. Guanlan is the hometown for Chen Yanqiao, a student of Luxun and one of the first Chinese printmakers,   an art theoretician, an educator and one of the initiators of China's printmaking movement. The central district of the print base is located in Da Shuitian - a ancient Hakka village with a history of more than 200 years.


The three parties have every resolve to develop the printmaking base into a creation base for Chinese printmaking high-end original works, a professional and authoritative printmaking research and collection institution, a sale and exhibition center for printmaking works, a sale center for printmaking tools and materials, a teaching practice base for higher fine arts colleges nationwide and a publicizing center of printmaking knowledge. China · Guanlan International Printmaking Biennial, China · Guanlan Art Museum of Printmaking, Printmaking Workshop and Original Printmaking Trade Fair, which are at international level, are all the brand projects developed by the printmaking base as standing academic communication and exchanges projects.


China·Guanlan International Printmaking Biennial is an international academic communication project aiming at printmaking creation, which includes two parts - works exhibition and academic seminar. The exhibition is held biannually. It is a high-end exhibition stressing the importance of academic component, artistry and technicality. Each exhibition has a fixed academic theme. The object of the exhibition is creation, individuality and technicality. In terms of the style of the works, we adopt an open and comprehensive attitude and emphasize the creation conditions of the artists and the inner language of the prints. It provides a crucial platform and window for mutual understanding between China and the rest of the world. "Guanlan International Printmaking Award" is an academic award at world level. The first China · Guanlan International Printmaking Biennial opens on May 16, 2007, after 11 months' preparation work.


The symbol of the biennial is from the idea of one of the curators, Guang Jun. In Guanlan Art Museum, Guang Jun drew, with a brush, two arrows pointing forward in dotted line and in solid line respectively. The two arrows symbolize the improvement of the printmaking exhibition biannually. One of the arrows is pointing at the 2007 China · Guanlanwhile the other arrow is pointing at the 2009 China · Guanlan. The symbol, with traditional Chinese writing, expresses a stronger regional feature.


The jury of the exhibition is made up of Chinese experts who have rich experience in international printmaking communication and are familiar with evaluation of printmaking works. They are recommended by fine arts committees and approved by CAA. The foreign judges are also experienced and authoritative experts in international printmaking activities. The number of judges for final evaluation is supposed to be 9, including 4 foreign judges and 5 Chinese judges. However, because the American judge can't show up, the number of judges is reduced to 8. In the initial evaluation on Mar. 6, 2007, there were 12 judges - Liu Dawei, Dong Xiaoming, Guang Jun, Qi Fengge, Jiang Lu, QijiaDawa, Huang Qiming, Sui Zigeng, Lu Zhiping, Hao Ping, Dai Daquan and Chen Long. The original foreign works and the photos of Chinese works were evaluated. 424 works were selected from 1976 works for the final evaluation. Dai Zhiqi and Zhu Fan were the chief director and director of the jury respectively for both the initial and final evaluation.


Judges for the final evaluation on Mar. 31 were Donald Urquhart (Britain), Fumio Nanjo (Japan), Youn,Myeung-Ro (Korea), Wu Changzhang, Dong Xiaoming, Jiang Lu, Zhang Yuanfan, Hao Ping. The curators couldn't participate in the voting procedure. The final evaluation was based on the rules of the 10th National Art Exhibition, which was characterized by combination of evaluation and discussion. According to the rules, judges exchanged their views on the works before voting by ballot. Judges voted independently. Then the votes were tallied transparently. During the process of tally, a foreign judge raised a question about works No. 26 for Dai Zhiqi -the chief director; because he remembered that he didn't vote for it. The tally team stopped their work immediately and checked all the votes. The judge was asked to recognize his votes. It turned out that he forgot he has voted for it. The story was a false alarmbut it proved the quality of the evaluation work. There were two series of voting for selected works and awarded works respectively. The Chinese judges who had participated in National Art Exhibition were more familiar with the voting procedure. Some foreign judge asked why there was another round of voting. In their countries, each judge put a slice of paper on the works that they thought should get the prize, so there was only one round of voting. Dai Zhiqi, vice secretary of CAA answered the question. He said the foreign way of voting had been adopted in China before, but it was proved to be not scientific. Such an approach involved subjective influences and was not good for judges to express their own views. That was why we didn't use such an approach in large-scale activity. In addition, Dai pointed out that the first round of voting was for selected works. Judges might have different attitude and opinion from voting for awarded works. Certain works might win many more votes, perhaps every judge would vote for it. However, such works might not win any vote in the second round for awarded works. The practice had approved the correctness of such a method. One of the works in this year's exhibition had won 7 votes from 8 judges in the first round, but it didn't get any vote in the second round. The interpreter had understood the rules and translated them accurately to the foreign judges. The judges recorded the voting procedure by taking notes and photos.


Another feature of the voting rules is the strict, standardized and scientific re-discussion process. Every voting result needed to be re-discussed. First, re-vote for works of re-discussion from selected works. Second, re-vote for works of re-discussion from non-selected works. Every judge could propose only one works in each re-discussion process. After exchange of view, judges vote for the approval of works for re-discussion. The former voting result could only be changed with the approval of 2/3 of the judges. The re-discussion was a process of exchanging academic and cultural views. It was filled with academic atmosphere, a friendly and tense environment. There were 11 works in the re-discussion for selected works. 7 of them were approved for re-discussion with a majority of 2/3 of the votes. Among them, 6 works were finally selected, while 1 was excluded. There was 1 works for re-discussion of awarded works and was finally excluded.


The judges were satisfied with the 15 works of "Guanlan International Printmaking Award". Finally, every judge recommended one work from all the selected works. All of them had chosen one from the 15 awarded works. "Special Recommendation of the Judge" was proposed by the foreign judges and was adopted after discussion.


The evaluating work was tense and serious. It was especially hard for a 70-year-old judge to walk several times through the exhibition hall to evaluate every piece of works. The staff was diligent and responsible. They must wear white gloves while moving the exhibited works. They had no time to go out for lunch, because they had to tally the votes at break. It impressed the judges a lot.


It is the first time for Guanlan to hold such a large-scale activity. The local government is resolved to set up specialized office and form professional team to allocate the work. Curator assistants are appointed by CAA to coordinate the work in Guanlan. The exhibition hall has been re-constructed and enlarged for the biennial. All of the picture frames, strings and lights are new. With the joint efforts of related organizations and departments, the exhibition is proved to be a great success. So far, it is an international printmaking gala with the largest number and the best quality of exhibited works. In order to coordinate with China · Guanlan International Printmaking Biennial, Children's Art Committee of CAA has organized the first International Children's Printmaking Exhibition consisting of works from Chinese and foreign children. Children from Shenzhen city, Bao'an District and Guanlan Street have also exhibited their works. The participation of children has injected more dynamism into the gala. At the same time, experts from the art circles can perceive the strong reserve power of future printmaking development.


Hereby, our heartfelt thanks go to every institutions and individuals that have spared no efforts in making the exhibition a great success. Let's meet in Guanlan in 2009.

观澜版画
GUANLAN PRINTS
BiliBili
WeChat
Sina Weibo
Toutiao
Email: glbhjd@szlhq.gov.cn      
Tel: 0755-32960866                   
Address: 125 and 169 Yuxin Rd., Longhua District, Shenzhen, China
For more information, please follow us on:

2007观澜国际版画双年展后记

发表时间:2007-05-20 16:51

谈到“观澜国际版画双年展“应该先介绍”观澜版画原创产业基地”。   

2006年5月,在第二届中国(深圳)国际文化产业博览交易会上,深圳市宝安区人民政府、中国美术家协会、深圳市文学艺术界联合会三方达成共识,欲强强联手,打造“观澜版画原创产业基地”,以国际水准的艺术展览树立中国版画的世界形象,以制作高品位的原创版画,引领中国版画艺术产业的国际化趋向。这个基地是集版画创作、制作、展示、收藏、交流、研究、培训和市场开发为一体的中国版画事业与产业并进的综合性项目。它已经列入深圳市文化产业发展战略十一五规划。   

观澜,是东晋古城一宝安县的重镇,现已发展成为占地89.8平方公里、人口50多万的现代化城市。她以“观澜湖高尔夫球会”扬名于世界,她有“文化之乡”的历史积淀和“崇文重教”的优良传统,文化资源得天独厚。鲁迅先生的学生、中国第一代版画家、美术理论家、教育家、中国新兴版画运动的先驱者——陈烟桥就是观澜人,他的故居就坐落在这个地区。版画基地的中心区就设在叫大水田的保存有200多年历史的客家古村落。   

合作三方决心共同将版画基地打造成中国版画高端原创作品的创作基地,专业权威的版画研究收藏机构、版画制作销售和博览中心、版画工具材料的销售中心、全国高等美术院校的教育实习基地和版画知识的宣传普及中心。“观澜国际版画双年展”、“观澜版画艺术馆”、国际水准的“版画工坊”和“原创版画交易会”是版画基地常设性的学术交流和市场开发品牌项目。   

“观澜国际版画双年展”是版画基地面向版画创作所开设的国际学术交流活动项目,包括作品展览及学术研讨两部分。每两年举办一次。它是一个注重学术性、艺术性和技术性的高端展览,每届展览都确立学术主题,在作品风格取向上采取开放和包容的态度,推崇创意、彰显个性、精良技术是宗旨。它是让中国了解世界,世界了解中国的重要平台与窗口。“观澜国际版画奖”是国际水准的学术奖。经过11个月的筹办,首届展览终于在2007年5月16日展览开幕了。   

双年展的标志是策展人广军的创意,他在观澜美术馆用毛笔在宣纸上写出一虚一实两个向前递进的箭头,象征着版画双年展每两年向前推进一届,本届箭头指向“2007中国•观澜”,隔一年下届箭头指向“2009中国•观澜”。标志以中国传统的笔墨为代表符号,表达了更强烈的地域特性。   

这届双年展评委的选择主要是考虑在国内有国际交流经验,对国际版画评选活动比较熟悉的专家,是由艺术委员会研究推荐中国美协批准组成的。国际评委也是选择在国际版画活动有权威性,有资格的专家。终评原定是9位评委,国外4位,中国5位,由于美国的评委雷•塞恩德因故不能来中国而减少一人。2007年3月6日初评,参加投票的评委有刘大为、董小明、广军、齐凤阁、姜陆、其加达瓦、黄启明、隋自更、卢治平、郝平、代大权、陈龙,共12人。国外作品评原作,国内作品评照片,最终在1976件来稿中评选出424件参加终评。两次评选都是由中国美术家协会副秘书长戴志祺担任总监评,朱凡担任监评。   

3月31日,终评的投票评委有唐纳德•厄克特(英国),南条史生(日本)、尹明老(韩国)、吴长江、董小明、姜陆、张远帆、郝平。策展人不参加投票。终评是用第十届全国美展的规则评选的,这个规则最大特点是采取评议结合,评委在无记名投票之前要进行交流,对作品发表个人看法。独立投票,公开唱票,大表格计票板一目了然。记票过程公开透明,记票中,一位外国评委向总监评戴志祺提出疑问,他对26号作品得满票表示怀疑,因为他记得这件作品他没有投票。现场计票组就立即停下来,核对所有选票,并让这位评委辩认自己的选票,最后发现是他记错了。这个小插曲虽然是一场虚惊但检验了评审工作,评委更加放心了。评入选和获奖作品是两次投票,国内的评委参加过全国美展的评选对这套评选办法比较熟悉。有的外国评委在第一投票结束后提出为什么还要投票,他们国家的评选是贴条子,按得票多少一次就完成评选。中国美协副秘书长戴志祺专门对这个问题作了解释,告诉他贴条的办法我们中国也用过,实践证明不科学,有导向性和人情面子因素影响,不利于评委真实表达个人意愿。我们在大型专业的评选工作中不采用这个办法。另外戴志祺还指出第一轮投票是投入选作品,评委的心态、尺度把握与评奖投票是不一样的,有时个别一般水平作品容易得高票,可能是所有评委都会投上一票。但是在第二轮获奖作品投票时这类作品就会落选甚至不得票。实践证明了这个道理,本届展览的作品就有一件作品入选阶段共8位评委投票它得7票,但获奖阶段投票这件作品却一张票也没有得。在场的翻译也看明白了这个问题,并如实地翻译给了外国评委。评委们也在用相机和笔记录评选细节。   

这个评选规则还有一个特点就是严格、规范、科学的复议程序。每次评选结果出来后都要复议,每次复议分两部分,先是从已选上的作品中找出被复议作品向下投票,再从没选上的作品中找出被复议作品向上投票。每个评委每次复议程序中只能选一件作品参加复议,并向评委会发表自己的意见,然后大家发表看法最后投票表决。达到三分之二评委同意才能改变原来的结果。复议程序就是评委们交换学术观点和文化碰撞的过程,复议透着浓浓的学术气氛,既和谐友好又紧张激烈。评入选作品阶段共提出11件作品参加复议,有7件作品达到三分之二票数过程复议内容,其中有6件落选作品被提升到入选中,1件入选作品被退出入选范围。评奖阶段有1件作品提出复议,结果退出获奖范围。   

评委们看到15件“观澜国际版画奖”得奖作品表示满意,心情特别愉快,最后请每位评委在所有入选作品中提出自己特别推荐的作品,大家的选择都没有跳出这15件。“评委特别推荐”这个内容是外国评委提出经研究决定及时采纳了这一建议。   

一天的评选工作紧张严肃,70多岁高龄的评委要在现场走无数遍确实辛苦。工作人员更是认真负责,移动作品全部戴白手套,中午连续计票,盒饭送到评选现场,让评委感动。   

这样大的国际展览工作对观澜来说是第一次,当地政府下决心,加力度,成立专门办公室,抽调专人来做好具体工作,中国美协也派策展助理常住观澜工作。展场是专门为这个展览扩大改造的,画框、吊线、灯光等都是新购买配置的。在各主办单位各部门的共同配合努力下,这个展取得了圆满成功,这是中国目前收件最多,质量最好的一次国际版画盛会。为配合“观澜国际版画双年展”中国美协少儿美术艺术委员会也专门调集中外优秀儿童版画组成“首届国际儿童版画展”。深圳市、宝安区和观澜街道的中小学生也展出了自己的版画作品。孩子们为这次盛会增添了活跃的气氛,同时也让美术界看到了版画发展的后备力量。   

为此,向对这次展览所做出努力的单位和个人表示衷心感谢,愿我们2009年再相聚观澜。

观澜版画
GUAN LAN PRINTS
BiliBili
微信公众号
新浪微博
今日头条
联系邮箱:glbhjd@szlhq.gov.cn            
联系电话:0755-32960866              
联系地址:广东省深圳市龙华区观澜街道牛湖大水田裕新路125号、169号                   
更多精彩内容请关注