Postscript of 2009 Guanlan International Print Biennial

Issuing time:2009-05-20 16:15

Two years ago, the Frist Guanlan International Print Biennial in 2007 was a great success. From 1976223 works by 1145 artists of 57 countries were selected for the Biennial. This reflected the internationalization and diverse orientation of the Biennial from many aspects. Since then, the influence in international fine arts of Guanlan is having further development tendency. On the basis of the success of the first Biennial, the 2nd Guanlan International Print Biennial in 2009 will achieve a higher level. We have received 2804 works from 70 countries by 1604 artists in total. After strict procedures of mark and vote by a printmaking authoritative jury committee that consisted of experts come from Korea, Japan, Belgium, Argentina and China, 587 works passed the first round, on April 3, 253 works selected for the exhibition finally, including 11 works which won a “Guanlan International Print Prize”.


“Guanlan International Print Biennial” is an international academic communication project aiming at printmaking creation, which includes two parts----works exhibition and academic seminar. The exhibition is held once every two years. It is a high-end exhibition focusing on the importance of academic component, artistic quality and technique. It provides an important platform and window for mutual understanding between China and the rest of the world. “Guanlan international Print Award” is an academic award of International level.


The assessment of this Biennial includes evaluation and re-evaluation and the jury is composed of experts from both at home and abroad. The voting rule is a strict, standardized and scientific process. The whole process was a process of exchanging academic views and cultural clash. Mr. Wu Changjiang has been invited as director of the jury; Mr. Liu Jian, Guang Jun and Dong Xiaoming as deputy director; Mr. Ding Jie and Sui Zigeng as supervisors. The assessment was characterized by a combination of evaluation and discussion. According to the rules, jury members exchanged their opinions on the works before voting by ballot. Jury members voted independently so the votes were tallied transparently.


Mr. Wu Changjiang, director of the Jury, pointed out that the organization of this Biennale is quite remarkable, the scientific organization of the staff ensure a smooth progress of the assessment. The high quality of the works and a wide range of participating countries demonstrate that the organizing committee did a great deal of detailed work.


Moreover, the foreign jury members gave a good comment of the assessment. Mr. Youn Myeung-Ro from South Korea said that the assessment was very compact and of high-quality, because all the jury members are well-known print artists, which guaranteed the professionalism of our assessment. It was pleased to be able to compose this Jury of so many renowned artists both at home and abroad and exchange various professional opinions.


"Concerning the assessment, I think the whole team is very professional, and methodically implemented the job step by step. Finally the eleven award works are excellent and they are a combination of all the views of the jury members. This shows that the works of this Biennial are quite wonderful and excellent.” Japanese jury Mr. Tetsuya Noda said.


Referring to this year’s Biennial, the jury members from Belgium, Mr.Maurice Pasternak, can not conceal his excitement: “There are many kinds of works in Guanlan International Print Biennial, and also a lot of work reflecting the combination of modern and traditional techniques, or using the modern technology to perform a number of traditional things. This selection is a big challenge, because we have to select the best works and select the award works among them. Ultimately, after several rounds of selection and deliberations, we selected eleven award works. I am looking forward to the exhibition, 253 selected works will be displayed on the exhibition that are excellent. I am surprised that your country and government have made a great effort on the development and publicity of cultural industries and that is not an easy job. Under the support of the government, I believe that Guanlan International Print Biennial will go further, more people will know Guanlan and printmaking, which is also conducive to allow more people around the world to understand Chinese culture. I believe that with the government's support, the next Biennial would certainly be even more perfect!


One of the jury members, Mrs. Alicia, from Argentina, said the Organizing Committee of Guanlan International Print Biennial is a group of top elites. Each of the jury members use their professional artistic sight to screen out the most outstanding works, and then make professional opinions through the discussions, after having selected the works. Each process is according to the international process, with the principles of openness, fairness, and justice and the organizing committee completed the assessment, as required, on time. This Biennial has a variety of works not only with the different printing technologies, meanwhile, collecting the works of different cultural concepts around the world.


The evaluating work was tense and serious. It was especially hard for a 70-year-old jury to walk several times through the exhibition hall to evaluate every piece of work. The staff was diligent and responsible. They must wear white gloves while moving the exhibited works. They had no time to go out for lunch, because they had to tally the votes at break. This impressed the jury a lot. Guanlan International Print Biennial in 2009 has become the largest national print exhibition held in China with a maximum of foreign works, participating artists and countries. The local government is determined to make more efforts, to set up a special office and to transfer some experts to do the specific work. The China Artists Association also appointed some professionals to assist the exhibition. Compared with the first Biennial, the current exhibition has its bright spot----it is located in the east area of print base, transformed from the Hakka Houses with a 300-year history, and the picture frame, hanging wire, lighting and so on are all new equipped. With the common efforts of various departments, this exhibition was a complete success.


Therefore, we would like to express our sincere gratitude to every institutions and individuals for their efforts on this exhibition. Hope we can get-together again in Guanlan in 2011.

观澜版画
GUANLAN PRINTS
BiliBili
WeChat
Sina Weibo
Toutiao
Email: glbhjd@szlhq.gov.cn      
Tel: 0755-32960866                   
Address: 125 and 169 Yuxin Rd., Longhua District, Shenzhen, China
For more information, please follow us on:

2009观澜国际版画双年展后记

发表时间:2009-05-20 16:15

两年前,2007首届观澜国际版画双年展获得了成功,从57个国家1145位艺术家1976件参选作品中入选了223件展览作品,从多方面体现了双年展的国际化程度、多元化取向。从那时起,观澜在国际艺术领域的影响就与日俱增。在首届双年展成功举办的基础上,2009第二届观澜国际版画双年展更上一层楼。共有来自全球70个国家和地区的1604位艺术家的2804件版画作品参赛,经过韩国、日本、比利时、阿根廷和中国版画界权威组成的评审团严格的打分投票,最终有587件作品入围,4月3日最终评出入选作品253件,并从中评出“观澜国际版画奖”获奖作品11件。

“观澜国际版画双年展”是版画基地面向版画创作所开设的国际学术交流活动项目,包括作品展览及学术研讨两部分,每两年举办一次。它是一个注重学术性、艺术性和技术性的高端展览,它是让中国了解世界、世界了解中国的重要平台与窗口。“观澜国际版画奖”是国际水准的学术奖。

本届双年展的评审分初评和复评,评委由国内外权威专家组成。由吴长江担任评审委员会主任,刘健、广军、董小明任副主任,丁杰、隋自更任监评。评审采取评议结合,评委在无记名投票之前要进行交流,对作品发表个人看法。独立投票,公开唱票,大表格计票板一目了然。

这个评选规则还有一个特点就是严格、规范、科学的复议程序。每次评选结果出来后都要复议,每次复议分两部分,先是从已选上的作品中找出被复议作品向下投票,再从没选上的作品中找出被复议作品向上投票。每个评委每次复议程序中只能选一件作品参加复议,并向评委会发表自己的意见,然后大家发表看法最后投票表决。达到三分之二评委同意才能改变原来的结果。复议程序就是评委们交换学术观点和文化碰撞的过程,复议透着浓浓的学术气氛,既和谐友好又紧张激烈。

评审委员会主任吴长江说,本届双年展组织工作十分出色,工作人员科学规范地操作,确保了评审工作的顺利。从作品的质量、参与艺术家国家的广泛说明了组委会做了大量细致的工作。

外国评委同样对评审工作给予了高度评价。来自韩国的尹明老说,这次的评审工作十分的紧凑和高质量,因为所有的评审委员都是版画界的知名艺术家,这保证了我们评审的专业性,很高兴能够和这么多国内外的著名艺术家组成这个评委会,交流各种专业的意见。

“关于这次的评委工作,我觉得整个团队都非常的专业,并且有步骤有条理的进行各项工作,最终评选出来的11幅得奖作品是结合了各位评委的意见,是非常优秀的作品。可见本届双年展将要展出的作品十分的丰富和出色。”日本评委野田哲也如是评价。

谈到本届双年展,来自比利时的评委莫里斯•帕斯特纳克难掩内心的激动:“本届观澜国际版画双年展参展的作品种类很多,而且不少作品体现出结合现代和传统的手法创作出来,或者是运用现代的技术手法去表现了一些传统的东西。这对我们的评选工作也是一个挑战,因为我们要从中选出最优秀的作品并评选出获奖作品。最终,我们经过多轮的投票评选、商议,选出了11幅获奖作品。而将在双年展展出的253幅入选作品也是很优秀的,我充满着期待。对于你们国家政府部门这么支持文化产业的发展和宣传,我感到意外,因为这是很难得的,得到政府的支持,相信观澜国际版画双年展将会走的更远,世界上更多的人认识观澜,认识版画,这也有利于让世界各国更多的人认识中国的一些文化。我相信,在政府的支持下,下届的国际版画双年展必定更加完善出色!”

而来自阿根廷的评委爱丽西亚则说,这次观澜国际版画双年展的组委会是一个顶级优秀的团体。每位评委用自己非常专业的眼光负责筛选出最优秀的作品,然后用专业的意见通过讨论,商议选出最终入围作品,每个流程都是按照国际上的流程进行,符合公开、公平、公正的原则,并且组委会按时按要求的完成了所有评审工作。这次双年展里展出的作品不仅具有各种先进的不同的印制技术,同时集合了世界各国不同文化概念的作品。

评选工作紧张严肃,70多岁高龄的评委要在现场走无数遍确实辛苦。工作人员更是认真负责,移动作品全部戴白手套,中午连续计票,盒饭送到评选现场,让评委感动。2009观澜国际版画双年展已成为中国有史以来举办国外参展作品最多、参展艺术家最多和参展国家最多的版画艺术类展览,当地政府下决心,加力度,成立专门办公室,抽调专人来做好具体工作,中国美协也派专人常住观澜工作。与首届双年展相比,这届展览还有一个亮点,那就是展场设在版画基地东区,由具有300年历史的客家围屋改造而成,画框、吊线、灯光等都是新购买配置的。在各主办单位各部门的共同配合努力下,这个展览取得了圆满成功。

为此,向对这次展览做出努力的单位和个人表示衷心感谢,愿我们2011年再聚观澜。

观澜版画
GUAN LAN PRINTS
BiliBili
微信公众号
新浪微博
今日头条
联系邮箱:glbhjd@szlhq.gov.cn            
联系电话:0755-32960866              
联系地址:广东省深圳市龙华区观澜街道牛湖大水田裕新路125号、169号                   
更多精彩内容请关注