Bright Window and Open Platform--Curator postscript of 2nd China·Guanlan International Print Biennai

Issuing time:2009-05-20 16:15Author:Li Baoquan/Zhang Yuanfan

The “First China • Guanlan International Print Biennial", held in 2007, was a great success which aroused strong repercussions both at home and abroad as well as enabling Guanlan to become a hot focus inside and outside of China. Taking advantage of this good momentum, the preparations of the 2nd Biennial have been held as planned, exactly two years later.


We have received unbelievably enthusiastic response from printmaking artists both at home and abroad since sending invitations for participation into the whole world last October. In total, we have received 2084 print works of 1604 artists from 70 countries and regions. With these inspiring figures, we can see that this Biennial has set the highest record in the history of international print exhibitions in terms of the large numbers of participating works, artists, countries and regions.


With the support of the government of Shenzhen, especially the Guanlan local government and the Chinese Artists Association, and with the cooperation of various print groups and many enthusiasts, this Biennial developed smoothly as planned and finally turned out to be the first international print Biennial worthy of its name in China. Its historic significance and value should not be underestimated.


However, compared with the long-term goal of becoming a Biennial with a matured academic concept and with corresponding international influence, the current state of progress should be seen as an initial stage needing to be developed further. It is clear that with the evolvement of the reform, China’s printmaking has also gradually emerged from the closed status. It has made a tremendous progress in the expansion of international exchanges and in the understanding of the status quo of overseas printmaking. However, our knowledge of international printmaking is still quite limited due to its dynamic and rapid development, the social and cultural differences and the absence of efficient communicating channels. Since the implementation of the reform and opening up policy Chinese contemporary printmaking has not been fully recognized by international print artists. What they know about China’s printmaking so far, to a certain extent, still lingers somewhere around the print works of the previous generation.


On the basis of this understanding and evaluation, we decided to continue to use “tolerance and openness” as the theme of the 2nd Guanlan International Print Biennial after consulting various print authorities. We intended, in the spirit of tolerance and openness and on the platform of Guanlan, to feast the eyes of the audience with the print works from different countries and regions, being reflections of different societies, cultures, as well as artistic ideas and individualities.

One of our aims is to gradually and naturally show the world the inner connection of international print art and to identify the rudiment of the world printmaking evaluation system. This is still indistinct but transcending the borderline and it is being widely acknowledged through showing the works of different social backgrounds. They differ from each other by their artistic ideas, methods and techniques, and are provided here with a platform to contrast, converse and even clash with each other. To some extent, we expect “contrast, conversation, clash” rather than acknowledgement. By introducing foreign print works, we also mean to offer Chinese print artists more opportunities to get to know foreign print artists and their works and thus to appreciate foreign artistic concepts, ways of expression as well as techniques which are still novel to us. Meanwhile, we want to make Chinese contemporary printmaking known to international print artists by exhibiting outstanding works created by Chinese artists.


In short, more efforts should be made to create more opportunities for domestic and foreign printmakers to communicate and learn from each other thus developing their work. “China • Guanlan International Print Biennial” takes the responsibility to be the most important promoter to this aim. The second Guanlan Biennial caught more world attention compared to the first one. From what has been achieved in these two biennials, we are glad to see that Guanlan, as a window of great significance, gains importance rapidly. The vision of people both inside and outside the window becomes clear and lucid. We have reason to believe that in the near future this window will give China’s printmaking the opportunity to voice its resounding opinion.


The final results of the exhibition appraisal and awards suggest that our expectations of this biennial are fulfilled. 256 works from 60 countries selected by us represent different artistic styles and convey their unique culture trait and connotation of different background. Though strikingly different in their styles, all these works send us the message that they share the pursuit of goodness, truth and beauty and that they are all concerned with peace, environment, humanity and human existence. The skills of creation vary from each other: from the ancient plain printmaking skill right up to the usage of modern technology. Therefore this exhibition is indeed a great visual feast which best represents the unique charms of contemporary printmaking. Here we would like to take this opportunity to express our sincere gratitude to all the artists who make this possible and we would also like to send our congratulations to the awarded artists.


In order to ensure the fairness and academic standards of the selection and assessment of this Biennial, four overseas jury members who came from Belgium, Argentina, Japan and South Korea worked tirelessly with the jury members from China, using their own practical work experience, expansive professional horizons and rigorous work attitude, thus, making a positive contribution to this Biennial. All things being prepared, as the exhibition is unfolding, We would like to express our heartfelt thanks to the jury on behalf of the curators of this Biennial.

观澜版画
GUANLAN PRINTS
BiliBili
WeChat
Sina Weibo
Toutiao
Email: glbhjd@szlhq.gov.cn      
Tel: 0755-32960866                   
Address: 125 and 169 Yuxin Rd., Longhua District, Shenzhen, China
For more information, please follow us on:

透亮的窗口  开阔的平台 ——第二届“中国·观澜国际版画双年展”策展后记

发表时间:2009-05-20 16:15作者:李宝泉  张远帆

2007年举办的首届“中国·观澜国际版画双年展”取得了巨大的成功,在海内外激起了强烈的反响,也使中国的观澜一跃而引起国内外的热切关注。乘着这股强劲的良好势头,第二届双年展的筹办活动在两年之后如期展开。

第二届双年展从去年10月开始面向全球发出征稿函件以后,得到了海内外版画艺术家们超乎我们主观想象的热烈响应,共来自收到70个国家和地区1604位艺术家的2804件版画作品。这些令人鼓舞的数字,使此届双年展成为了我国有史以来在国外投稿作品数量、参与国家和地区数量、参与画家人数等指标上,都创下了最高记录的国际版画展事。

第二届双年展在深圳和观澜地方政府、中国美术家协会、各个专业团体和众多热心人士的全力支持和通力合作下,按照最初的规划设想,如期地进入了有条不紊的筹办环节,从而使该项系列展事成为国内第一个名符其实的“国际版画双年展”。仅此一个环节,便已创下国内记录,其历史性的意义和价值不容低估;然而,相对于“具有成熟的学术理念并具有相应的国际影响力”的长远建设目标而言,目前的进展状态,仍应视为尚处于有待培育和积累的初期阶段。我们看到,随着改革开放的逐步深入,中国的版画界也逐步地走出了长期封闭的状态,在扩大与海外的交流、增进对海外版画发展现状的了解方面,也同样取得了具有划时代意义的巨大进展。但相对于处于动态发展中的国际版画前沿的鲜活情势而言,受限于社会文化发展状况的实际差异和切实有效的信息交流渠道的缺失,我们的了解也仍然是相当有限和不够深入的。与此同时,国际版画界对中国当代版画在改革开放后的发展和现状的了解,相形之下,还更显得更为片面和肤浅;其中的某些认识,甚至还停留在跟前一时代相关的残留印象上。

出于以上的基本认识和判断,本届双年展的策展方在多方征询权威人士的意见和建议后,决定仍然延续上届双年展的主题——“包容与开放”,即继续以高度包容和开放的态度,广泛接纳来自不同国家和地区的、反映不同的社会、思想、文化背景和艺术个性的版画作品,让它们在中国观澜这个高度开放的国际版画展示的宽阔平台上,同台竞秀、各呈异彩。

我们的期望之一,是通过文化背景、创作观念、表现手法、制作技艺等都不尽相同的作品之间交互的映衬、对话乃至碰撞,能渐次而自然地呈现当今世界版画艺术发展轨迹中的某些深层次的内在共性及其评价体系的雏形——它们或许在外貌上还显得相当模糊,却能在相当的程度上超越地域文化的疆界而获得广泛的认同。而在某种意义上说,较之于“认同”,我们更期待的、也认为是更具有本质意义的,其实是“映衬、对话乃至碰撞”的过程本身。我们的第二层期待,则是希望通过将国外的版画作品引入中国的展示平台,使中国的版画家有更多的机会近距离地、直观地感受和了解海外版画家、版画作品,及其可能尚不为我们所了解、熟悉和喜爱的创作观念、表现手法和制作技艺。与此同时,也将国内优秀的版画作品推上国际性的表演舞台,让更多的海外人士了解中国当代版画创作的实际水准和性格特征。

要言之,无论是对于国内还是国外的版画界,通过相互的了解和交流来促进自身的提升,至少在现阶段,仍然还是有待于大力推动和促进的,而“中国•观澜国际版画双年展”,则责无旁贷地应当成为这项促进工作的第一窗口。通过双年展在国内外的感召力逐渐增强的可喜态势,我们高兴地看到,通过前后两届双年展的持续努力,这扇具有特殊价值的窗口,正在日益变得开阔和透亮;站在窗口里外两侧相互观望的人们的视野,也正在日益变得清晰入微和透彻。我们有理由相信,在不远的将来,中国版画界也将通过这同一扇窗口,向世界发出自己响亮的主张。

展览评选和评奖工作的最终结果表明,我们对本届双年展的期许得到了完满的实现。出自60个国家版画艺术家之手的253件入选作品,为我们展示出极为丰富多彩的艺术风貌,也传达出各自不同的文化特性和思想内涵。而在风格迥异的画面背后,又明白无误地传递出人类向善、求真、尚美的共同追求和理想,传递出对于和平、环境、人性、生存等重大课题的不约而同的强烈关注。作品的制作技艺则也同样丰富和各具特色,从最为古老的朴素手段到结合现代科技的新颖方式同堂呈现,堪称是集中展现当代版画艺术独特而迷人魅力的、一场高水准的视觉盛宴。我们谨借此文向共同创造这一切的所有艺术家表示由衷的敬意,向获奖艺术家表示热烈的祝贺!

来自比利时、阿根廷、日本和韩国的四位海外评委以自己丰富的工作经验、开阔的专业视野和敬业严谨的工作态度,不辞辛劳,和来自国内的评委们一起,为保证这次展览评选和评奖工作的公正性和学术水准,做出了积极的贡献。在一切准备就绪,展览即将向世人拉开帷幕之际,笔者代表本届双年展的策展人,谨向全体评委致以深切的谢意。

观澜版画
GUAN LAN PRINTS
BiliBili
微信公众号
新浪微博
今日头条
联系邮箱:glbhjd@szlhq.gov.cn            
联系电话:0755-32960866              
联系地址:广东省深圳市龙华区观澜街道牛湖大水田裕新路125号、169号                   
更多精彩内容请关注